I is for: Italia!

I absolutely adore Italy. It is so rich in culture, the weather is (mostly) glorious, the people are so welcoming. 

My first taste in Italia was a five day trip to the outskirts of Pisa with Brunel’s hip hop dance group, ‘The Freshmen’ in 2011. We spent the majority of our time out there competing in a World Championships, so the only exploration I did was one day at the Leaning Tower. So, the following year I worked, and worked and saved enough for a 12 day Contiki-coach tour of the country!

We saw the ruins of Pompeii, Sorrento, Capri Island, Florence, Pisa, La Spezia, Milan, Lake Garda, Verona, Venice, Rome and the Vatican City. It was lush! But it was a heartbreaking realisation the other day went I noticed that all of my photos from this trip did not survive the cross over from my old MAC to my hard drive/new MAC… Lost forever! All I have now are the ones I can download off of my own Facebook…

Image

Milan

Image

The view of Duomo Dome from Giotto Bell Tower – Florence

Image

The Colosseum, Rome

Image

Ponte Vecchio Bridge – Florence

 

In 2013, I did venture to Italia once more on a university tour to Rimini. Aside from a day in Bologna, we did not experience culture. We experienced nightlife and drunks. Fabulous! 

If you get the chance, go to the Sistine Chapel. Everyone talks about the ceiling, but words actually cannot describe it. It is something you need to see for yourself!

All in all, I want to go back. Florence was my favourite city, but Rome came close. Both I would like to explore more!

About Hooch

BA Film & TV at Brunel University Dancer Love Bon Jovi and Garrett Hedlund
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

